During December we celebrate the two most important birthdays – my little munchcakes. This year Buggy had a circus party. She had been planning all year; I had been planning for about 4 years since I saw a circus dress on the.girl.inspired – alas the link doesn’t work now.

circus outfit

As it turned out, Buggy was intent on showing off her trapeze artist party tricks, so amazingly the ‘girl who only wears dresses’ requested a top and ‘pantaloons’ – her words.

trapeze outfit

I’ve never made a peplum top so I thought this was the perfect opportunity. After much searching I settled on the Swallowtail peplum by lil luxe collection. I love the flutter sleeves and the straight edge of the skirt was perfect for my fabric choice rather than others that were cut on a circle.

circus peplum top

But the knock-out feature of this peplum pattern is the back.

peplum top with tie back

I think every kids-clothes dressmaker has on their agenda to use Michael Miller’s ‘Children at Play’ fabric at some point. Now was my time before Buggy grows out of it. So delightful and innocent, it worked perfectly.

circus_party19

For the pantaloons Buggy chose the Kate shorts pattern by Violette Field Threads which I made in Magic Stars and Stripes fabric.

circus peplum top and pantaloons

For the party I had been thinking about making a circus tent from the One Thimble magazine but I wasn’t sure how I would hang it, so instead we opted for a gazebo which I then decorated with bunting and balloons. You can see it briefly behind the amazing magic show!

circus_party4

Oh yes! My other sewing masterpiece was the chief magician’s cape completed at exactly 1am the night before the party!

magicians cape

Hamster was so excited to be part of a magic show and was convinced that the audience was spellbound by his magic two-hat trick. His costume was his recycled Halloween Dracula costume – bowtie and top hat replacing medallion and fangs.

circus party

I think all-in-all the kids had a great time with cracking weather to boot!

circus party

circus face paint

circus_party7

Despite my elephant being ridiculously heavy for the cake and the usual meringue melt in the hot Aussie weather, the food went well – I even splashed out on a popcorn machine we found in Kmart last minute!

circus cake

popcorn machine

Lap it up Buggy, this year we are going very quiet come party time!

circus_party12

xx

 

 

 

