Bambi who? Bambiblauw! Yep, this is a gorgeous fabric line from Belgium distributed by my good friend Maaike from maaidesign in Sydney. You may remember the husky dress I made from the same series.

all seasons dress

I have been dreaming about this particular bambi print in the series since seeing Straightgrain’s version two years ago! Doesn’t take long for me to catch up!

bambiblauw fabric

The fabric panels are 140cm x 70xm wide, so making a size 7 I had to really think hard about the pattern: it couldn’t entail a full skirt and needed to show off bambi to the full. So I chose Tadah’s All Seasons dress. The pattern pieces fit the panel almost perfectly with a little trimming to the flutter sleeves!

Tadah all seasons dress pattern

This is such a versatile pattern – use a heavier fabric in winter and pair with a long-sleeve top underneath, or make it the perfect summer staple like I have done here – and you get a range of collar types and sleeves to choose from as well!

back all seasons dress

I love the celebratory confetti feature of this Bambiblauw print and the fabric is velvety to the touch – just divine.

all seasons dress

It’s been some time since I’ve photographed Bugs and after a year of full-forced grimaces in both school and soccer team photos it was like she came into her own during this photo shoot. For years I’ve been saying, ‘look at the camera, look at the camera!’ exasperated, and then she pulls out the pose above! I absolutely love this photo as to me it portrays the confident and resolute girl she is today that I hope remains tomorrow.

bambilblauw fabric prints

This is her Cara Delevingne pose. I know TAG Heuer will be on the phone tomorrow asking to contract Bugs for the next campaign. 🙂

all seasons dress pattern

It’s the wonderful thing about being a parent though – you have this microscopic attention to every development they go through as they discover further and further who they are, how their body works and how to express the spirit inside.

And on that note, I had to include this series of photos because this is the spirit of sibling love that abounds in our house every day despite the little hiccups of disagreements peppered between (not so many really).

bambi24 bambi23 bambi22 bambi21

xx

 

 

