It’s the middle of May and we have another week’s forecast of sunny 24-26 ‘C days. Not that I’m complaining!  But I thought it seemed appropriate to share some shorts I made for Buggy in late summer which she is still wearing!

orange_patchwork_shortsweb3

To celebrate Harmony Day back in March at Buggy’s school, they had to wear orange and bring a gold coin. I think most of us struggled to find orange outfits in our kids’ wardrobes so I thought I’d whip up some orange patchwork shorts from my scraps.

patchwork shorts

I love how these have turned out. I used the Kid shorts pattern by Made Everyday which I have previously blogged about here and here and here! Fourth or fifth time around I’ve decided these shorts are a little snug, at least for my Bug, so if you are uncertain on size, go up one and cinch in the waist more. I always use the flat front version but perhaps the full elastic version would give a little more room.

harmony day

The other major event that has happened in our life is that I have turned into a soccer mum! We are now attending weekly coaching and Saturday morning games. EARLY Saturday morning games….

soccer shorts

It turns out surprise surprise that Bug has nothing to train in, so it was perfect timing to try out the Moku skorts pattern which I have been meaning to do forever. These Mokus are the ‘Claytons’ of the shorts world. Shorts that don’t look like you’re wearing shorts. Perfect for the girl who is, simply, not into shorts. (There seems to be a common theme running through my sewing projects of late!)

moku shorts

Ya see what I’m saying? Could be a skirt right? Thumbs up from madam.

moku shorts

Plenty of pretty and panache for this little punk!

moku shorts

Love this fabric too. It’s Cotton + Steel’s Pink Mustang.

cotton + steel mustang

And on that note, it’s bedtime as we have an 8.30am game in the morning!

xx

