I am so excited that FINALLY FINALLY I have got around to photographing the clothes I’ve made for myself. Actually I cannot take any of the credit. Thanks goes to awesome Maaike of Maaidesign who locked us in to a day of shooting each other to finally get some of these sweet makes documented.

washi dress summer

If you don’t know Maaidesign but are looking for some unique European threads for sewing and you live in Australia, check her out here!!

photo shoot

We had so much fun and discovered the university near both our homes has an endless abundance of fantastic back drops to try out like this eggplant brick wall above!

washi dress hello bear fabricweb7

But just because the stars had aligned – location, photographer, there’s still the issue of the awkward model! Man were there a lot of takes! It’s funny how I know exactly what to tell my kids to make them relax and pose naturally but none of it came naturally at all when it came to my turn.

washi dress hello bear art gallery fabric

Let’s talk about the sewing! This is the Washi dress by Made by Rae. Super easy, do you remember my Christmas version awhile back in chevron? Well, this one sort of became my 2015 Xmas version although I’ve continued wearing it to extend past the festive season. Luckily, antlers are in.

washi dress hello bear fabricweb4

I love this fabric and it is so popular right now. It’s Hello Bear – Buck Forest in Night by Bonnie Christine (Art Gallery fabrics). You’ll never guess, but right when I was finishing the yoke I snipped the fabric right on the front! My motto in sewing is always ‘onward and upward!’ so a little bit of interfacing and I’m wearing it anyway. Some bright beads don’t go astray to guide eyes away from the error!

washi dress

This dress is super comfy and fits just right. Shirring on the back means no need for fasteners or zips etc Woo hoo!

shirring back

Yup, I think I may have a few more of these up my sleeve to make!

xx

 

 

