Following on from the Endless Summer Shorts post, project two that was cut before Christmas (and has waited patiently half constructed over summer) is a new nightie for Bugs. I’ve wanted to make her more nighties for eons and took a while looking for the right pattern to adapt when I couldn’t find a dedicated nightie pattern.

garden party dress nightie

I settled on the Oliver + S Garden Party dress and extended the dress line. This pattern offers sleeveless or cap sleeve options and can also be made as a blouse.

summer nightie

Fabric is from the Tule Line by Leah Duncan – Embroidered by Sun. I actually had bought this fabric awhile back to make the Apple Picking Dress also by Oliver + S, but never quite got there and now Bugs has moved out of the pattern size range I purchased. Still, because of all those ruffles that pattern accommodates, it meant I had enough for a long length nightie, and I love the soft dreamy print.

oliver + s garden party dress hack

I love the shirred bodice, which is actually gathered fabric with the waist band sewn over the top. I wanted to make mine a little more detailed with ric-rac and a button feature.

shirred bodice

For the hem I used some eyelet trim – one of the many rolls I have adopted from my grandma’s stash. Thanks Grandma! Ooops! Didn’t quite get my fabric lines matched up on the side seam. Don’t look too close!

lace trim hem

The best part of this project – this time Buggy adores her outfit and wanted to wear it straight away. I knew the princess length would win her over!

garden party dress nightie

xxx

