My little Bug has begun school. Was I a blubbering mess? Yessir! Suddenly those completely out-of-control irrational hormones that plagued during pregnancy and newborn phase returned on high! I even had tears at pick up time!

first day school

Bugs on the other hand was excited and vibrant! She is in love with her 6th grade buddy as is Hamster after only meeting her once. ‘Phoebe this’ and ‘Phoebe that’. It’s easy to impress 3 and 5-year-olds!

My baby brain, which really can’t be excused now 3 years down the track, has struggled with the new routines already. The kids went to preschool on the wrong days in January, I clashed swimming and work days and I forgot which day ballet began. So it was with trepidation the night before THE FIRST DAY, that I stared at the school letter confirming thoroughly I had the date and time right. I did. Phew!

library bagweb2

I even had the chair bag ready! These bags are school issue but we were told the kids like to make it ‘their own’ with little adornments so I made it ‘my own’ and asked Bug afterwards if she liked it. 🙂 (I even embroidered her name which looks better in real life than the picture. Thanks Karen F. for the tutorial way back when in Darwin! )

school chair bag

Then they sprung ‘Library day’ on us yesterday, but luckily the book bag was in production. If you would like some simple instructions for your own library bag here goes.

library bag tutorial

Library Bag Tutorial

You’ll need:

  • 2 rectangles of heavy fabric (I used denim) – 35cm x 42cm
  • 2 pieces of fabric for straps – 7 cm by 50cm
  • Herringbone webbing (75cm)
  • Any decorations
  • Usual sewing supplies
  1. If you are applying ribbons to the library bag, first hem one side of your bag along the long end and finish (zig-zag stitch or serge).
  2. Sew your ribbons across the two sides of the bag. You may find fabric glue helps keep them in position. My glue said it wouldn’t absorb into the fabric and mark. It did. So I used it on the chair bag only and pinned the ribbons with less success for the library bag.
    library bagweb4
  3. With right sides together, sew along the second long edge and the bottom edge and finish the seams.
  4. Take one piece of fabric for a strap and fold and press it along the long edge. Sew the long edge together then turn inside out and press. Repeat for the other strap. Topstitch each long edge.
  5. While the bag is inside out, turn over the top edge 1 cm and press. Pin your straps into place and then lay and pin the herringbone webbing around the top edge of the bag hiding the raw edges of the bag and straps. Sew around the top and bottom edges of the webbing. Make sure you tuck the raw short end of your webbing over for a clean finish.herringbone webbing
  6. Turn the bag right side out and push out the corners with a chopstick.
  7. Voila! Your school kid is ready to borrow books!

book bag tutorial

library bag

xx

 

 

35 x 42

