tulip skirt

I bought this beautiful Christmas Reindeer fabric – Scandi by Henley Studio – last year and it doesn’t seem to be on sale anywhere this year but they do have a new line out for this season. Sadly, I only bought a metre, which is not enough these days to make a dress for Buggy, particularly as she likes something with a bit of flounce. So instead, I opted for a Tulip skirt by Tadah! and the Isabella Flutter Sleeve Top by Townmouse.

christmas tulip skirtweb14

The Isabella blouse features a cute keyhole detail with tie at the front and simple button and loop at the back. There’s also a second variation with inset ruffles in place of sleeves, which Bugs preferred, but I got gung-ho with my cutting one night and didn’t realise you need to re-draw the pattern slightly (Kristine provides great instructions for this) before cutting. Oh well, I got my way, I love the keyhole!

isabella flutter sleeve top

I’m never convinced about blouses tucked into skirts for little ones as they never stay put, so for Bug’s Christmas Concert she had her first experience with Hollywood tape! Is that bad?! :0

christmas tulip skirt

The problem with Bugs being tall is that for both Christmas concert and ballet concert she was stuck at the back, this time also behind ‘girl with giant bow’… Which is disappointing for her over-keen parents looking on… and she knows her tunes and moves not to be seen!

christmas tulip skirtweb1

Actually I was so proud of our little man this year and what a difference a year makes! Last year, I was crouched down beside him to give him confidence to sit with his class, but this year he was the oldest toddler belting out his carols while others fell apart with sobs.

christmas tulip skirtweb2

And we don’t need to visit Santa at Westfield this year. I am super happy with this shot.

christmas tulip skirtweb5

I’ve wanted to make a Tulip skirt for some time so it was great to use this fabric for the job with a little red ribbon to show off the wavy hemline.

Tadah tulip skirt

Lauren gives you two options for waistlines – high or low – and I knew Bugs would opt for low – hates anything on her tummy!

christmas tulip skirtweb13

I made a size 6 so it wraps around a fair way, but I love that you can simply move the buttons as she grows. Pity she will probably grow up faster than out, but still.

christmas tulip skirtweb17

Buggy is starting school next year so this year’s concert also saw her graduating preschool!

christmas tulip skirtweb4

christmas tulip skirtweb3

And I couldn’t write this post without including a photo of her most favourite teacher, Mr Matt.

christmas tulip skirtweb6

Bugs will miss you Mr Matt!

Here’s hoping everyone has a very merry and safe Christmas and we’ll see you in 2016!

xx

 

 

 

 

