It’s no surprise to the Facebook followers that I’ve been busy this weekend pattern testing a new tea party dress by Tadah!

Oh the anticipation is building sky-high!

Tadah_duffle_jacket_Avaweb10

But before spring and flouncy dresses really find their swing, I got in my last winter piece – the Tadah! duffle coat – which truth be told should have been made about three months ago!

Tadah winter coat

Where did the season go?!

Tadah_duffle_jacket_Avaweb16

Yes this jacket was meant to complement Hamster’s version that I made back in June.

Tadah_duffle_jacket_Avaweb11

Buggy’s reaction, when I excitedly first showed her my toils of the week, was, “yuk!” and “I’ll look like a boy!” which leads me to the moral of the story – never show your hardwork and expect a positive reaction when the model steps off an interstate flight at 9 o’clock at night. After some stern words from father, the next day I returned home to her wearing the jacket and a completely new and exuberant attitude.

Tadah_duffle_jacket_Avaweb7

4-years-old = fickle but so loveable all the same! 🙂

Tadah! duffle jacket

The wool was from Spotlight and is really soft and lovely.

Tadah! duffle jacket

The lining is ‘Morning Walk’ by Art Gallery Fabrics, Mojave Sand. I love it, as I wanted a jacket that could mix and match with multiple outfits and, who knows, maybe Hamster will get a wear eventually too!

Morning Walk by Art Gallery Fabrics - Mojave Sand

Really, even though the idea of a duffle jacket can seem daunting to the beginner seamstress, like most things it’s not too bad when you get into it. Just lots of pieces to cut out!

Tadah_duffle_jacket_Avaweb12

What else? Those pockets… so useful for busy hands!

I really want summer to roll on in but just quietly for the sake of the sew I’m glad we are back to winter temps this week! Did I just say that?!

Tadah duffle coat

If you haven’t heard about this jacket before you’ve got a couple of options to work with. The quick-sew or the pro-finish. To find out more about these options and to see more pictures jump over to the Tadah! blog here.

Tadah_duffle_jacket_Avaweb33

So what are you waiting for?! Sew like a pro and make your lined winter jacket!

Tadah_duffle_jacket_Avaweb30

 

xx

