It’s August and winter does not have hold of us for too much longer, so I need to get my cold weather projects finished! Here’s one I’ve been planning for some time –
Compagnie M’s Mara dress. Yup, I’m on a roll with her stuff!

mara_dressweb19

This time last year, (feels a century ago!) I made Bugs a Mara blouse (I cannot believe how her hair has grown and sadly dropped its curl) and I have been dying to make the ‘dress version’ for some time.

mara_dressweb17

I’ve gone with size 6 in case winter decides to be brief (we can hope!) and she can still wear it next year, but as usual I have not added enough length (ok for now, not for next year!).

mara_dressweb15

I love the bib feature of this dress and how it transforms a simple dress shape into a vintage lovely.

mara_dressweb5mara_dressweb4mara_dressweb6

I give this sweetheart such a hard time about goofing off during photos, but she really works hard for me given she’s only 4 and would rather be running around and drinking in life.

mara_dressweb8

The fabric is awesome isn’t it? It’s Made by Rae’s Fanfare. I’ve finally bought it.
I’ve finally sewed it. So happy!

mara_dressweb14

In other news, Buggy has started learning Spanish. Class is held at a community centre in a lovely historical house right by the Harbour Bridge. One of these days we will not be running errands afterwards, and have a meander over the bridge or a play underneath on the big, green lawns. I’m making friends with one of the mums and we discovered today we both sew!

mara_dressweb9

 

xx

