I have been admiring the patterns by Suz at SewPony for some time since I found a pic of her Debbie’s birthday dress. So vintage, so sweet! I haven’t made one yet but while I have been waiting for the right moment, the opportunity arose to test her next pattern – Dear Prudence.

prudence_web18

I decided I loved the summer-iest (not a word I know!) version of the dress so I chose sleeveless, but you do have the option for capped sleeves or 3/4 sleeves.

prudence_web6

The bodice is lined and the shirring at the front and elastic at the waist back allows the dress to be pulled on without fasteners whilst still providing a nice shape.

prudence_web2

I always love piping and it really sets off the pockets and collar. Great pockets for gathering treasures!

prudence_web23

 

prudence_web16

This fabric is a Spotlight special and I bought other shades of it last summer as well, so very glad to finally use it!

prudence_web11

I made a size 5T for Bugs and it fit perfectly which is a good thing as we have a few more months till she can get back into this comfortably weather-wise!

prudence_web8

The sewing went pretty well for me except for attaching the back to the back bodice lining and creating the second set of stitching to thread the elastic through. I felt like I was sewing unguided for this line of stitching and hard to pin the bodice to the outer – I’m not sure why – it was hard to get it all to sit flat while I pinned. Now I think about it, I think my bodice wasn’t spot-on in shape and size and this may have had knock on effects. If I have better luck on my next version I’ll be sure to update you!

prudence_web1

But look, overall I loved making this dress, and importantly it got the thumbs up from Buggy! So I am keen to make more when the weather warms up!

prudence_web21

And, I think it’s a good sign when I can’t cull my photos for the blog, so here I go in over-drive!! Weeeeee!!!

prudence_web14

prudence_web26

prudence_web13

I know, right, you love this pattern, am I right?! If so, then buy your version now: head over to prudence dress pattern. Throughout the tour (which runs Monday, Tuesday and Friday this week and next), you can receive 15% off the pattern with code: PRUDENCE15 (apply at checkout).

prudence_web15

To see more beuatiful Dear Prudence dresses check out the blog tour:

blog-tour

xx

 

