The lovely Marte from Compagnie M is launching her latest pattern today for girls – the Nina culottes and skirt. And I got to test it for her with Bugster!

nina_culottes_web8

Yay! We love pattern testing. Especially when it’s with a talented designer like Marte. This pattern is off the back of her women’s version of skirt and culottes, down-sized for those super-styling mini groovers!

nina_culottes_web7

I was pretty rushed off my feet when the pattern testing was underway (I am saying that way too much these days! Boring!) so I opted for an easier option of faux pockets and the invisible side zip. But Marte gives you plenty of options for real pockets, front zips etc etc In hindsight I would have loved to applied piping between my waist band and the shorts but you’ll have to see this wonderful detail on some of the other pattern tour bloggers!

nina_culottes_web2

I wasn’t sure about culottes at first for my Bug, but now I am sold and so is she which was a pleasant surprise! This pattern has the feminine details of a skirt but with pant legs it gives your girl a little more, ahem, decorum, when they are hanging from the play gym upside down, which is my Bug most of the time!

nina_culottes_web1

I am almost out of my fabulous Andover chambray so I picked up this beautiful bright shot cotton from Spotlight. I think I’m getting better at invisible zips. I learn a little more each time and you’ll see my latest effort next on the blog with my Ishi dress. I just wish I had found one that matched closer in colour for the culottes. Never mind.

nina_culottes_web10

ps. Happy Kids Clothes Week!

xx

