Easter is around the corner.
The past week has seen me sifting through my stash looking for which pieces would be just right for an Easter dress for Bugs. Well, I found some fabric I’ve been dying to use for some time and you’ll see it soon, but that meant this lovely left-over piece of Peter Rabbit was still waiting in the wings. So in a mad dash last minute, as I am prone to do, I decided to make an Easter dress for my niece.

easter_hide_seekweb1

The hardest part of this project was getting the yoke together. I really was working with scraps! I spent ages analysing the left-overs (from a pair of toddler bloomers for a trip to Italy when Bugs was 18 months old!), trying to determine how I could eek a front and back yoke out of it. You probably can’t see but I actually had to stitch three pieces together for that front yoke. I’m impressed with the seamless result! (It’s between the main image and the row of radishes at the shoulders, can you see?!)

Try as I might, I couldn’t figure out how to cut my back yoke to fit the fabric, so I had to add a little chambray at the shoulders so I didn’t totally decapitate the little bunnies on the back! (ok, so their ears suffered…)

easter_hide_seekweb6

The pattern is Oliver + S Hide and Seek in size 8. My last version was Buggy’s Pocahontas dress last year if you recall. And the main fabric is more of my Andover chambray, this time in Coral.

These are lovely sews, which is just as well as I was burning the midnight oil to get it started and finished and bundled up to post to Bathurst in time!

Happy Easter xx

 

