charles_pantsweb8

You may recall late last year we had a Woodsy Tea Party for my two munch-cakes. Well here are Hamster’s Charles dungarees from Compagnie M in a little more detail.

charles_pantsweb6

This is my second pair of these babies (the first being his Pinocchio set) and they never fail to make me smile with their sweetness.

charles_pantsweb1

I paired the Fox in Gray from Ed Emberley with Jennifer Sampou’s Check in Black. And lucky for me there is enough check for a nice little pair of strides later this year.

charles_pantsweb4

I’m getting more familiar with this pattern but have never used the buttonhole elastic for the waist, simply because I never get around to buying any. For my first pair, I wiggled a bit of elastic ad-hoc in the back but for this pair I decided to leave the waist loose.

charles_pantsweb3

This is ok, but it means the straps need to be on fairly firmly to bring the waist line to Hamster’s waistline. I am not sure he will get a lot of growth out of them though. Second time around I’ve noticed the crotch area is fairly firm in these pants for the nappy wearers. I think if I make another pair I will potentially sew a size 3 bottom with size 2 top to get a little more room for that padded toosh.

charles_pantsweb7

Mind you, they haven’t stopped this adventurer getting where he needs to be!

charles_pantsweb9

I’m looking forward to making some long pairs for winter and giving my little man a retro overalls snuggly look.

charles_pantsweb10

There’s not a lot of variation in boys’ sewing so I am loving these dungarees!

charles_pantsweb11

