georgia_dressweb15

My Bug recently celebrated her fourth birthday with a Wild and Woodsy Tea Party. So we knew we needed a dress that was magical for the occasion.

georgia_dressweb7

The Georgia Vintage dress by the Cottage Mama was designed reminiscent of a dress Lindsay’s mum wore in the 50s. I just adore it and the sleeves and bib top remind me of maxi dresses I wore in the late 70s!

georgia_dressweb14

I actually ordered my fabric quantities incorrectly – I meant for the floral ‘Emmy Grace Budquette in Dayspring’ to be the bib apron and the blue ‘Emmy Grace, Knotty in Rain’ to make up the underskirt; and although Bugs was unsure of the blue at first, we both think the change in layers worked out for the best.

georgia_dressweb1

Especially since the large sash bow ends up in floral.

georgia_dressweb10

I used a cream satin ribbon for my piping on the bib,

georgia_dressweb12

and managed to find those beautifully covered pink buttons in Spotlight. The blue ric-rac sets off the collar just right I think.

georgia_dressweb11

I used interfacing in the collar but I’m not overly happy with the result. It does make it stiff but I also found it a little crinkly no matter how much I ironed it.

georgia_dressweb17

I also used a pink ric-rac on the skirt when I realised I needed a lot more of the original ribbon I had picked out. The underskirt and apron undeniably have a lot of fabric! Much to Buggy’s joy. I do think this is her favourite dress I have made to date.

georgia_dressweb8

Because my Bug likes long skirts and she is super tall, I ended up using a rolled hem on the floral underskirt so we didn’t waste any length.

georgia_dressweb6

The nice thing is, it’s actually not a particularly hard sew, it’s all the embellishments that add time to your project.

georgia_dressweb5

And even though at times I thought perhaps it was getting overly decorative, I think this is the dress where you can get away with it!

georgia_dressweb16

A perfect Alice in Wonderland inspired outfit.

georgia_dressweb20

georgia_dressweb19

georgia_dressweb22

georgia_dressweb9

Happy birthday sweet girl!

