createnic_first_day_dressweb3

It’s finally here. My opportunity to make my premiere First Day Dress pattern by Dana Made It.

first day dress

This dress is a surprisingly easy sew even though it is fully lined. Which is a good thing, as my deadlines were brought forward for this party girl when we decided to arrive in Bathurst a day early.

createnic_first_day_dressweb12

I used a fun geometric cotton for the outer layer and a sweet heart theme for the lining which I picked up from Reverse Garbage.

createnic_first_day_dressweb1

What I didn’t bank on, was the lined dress is essentially reversible!

createnic_first_day_dressweb5

And the heart side was a clear favourite!

createnic_first_day_dressweb8

The dress has one slit at the top and a roomy bodice to allow it to slip over the head and shoulders, fastened with a button and elastic loop. I was a bit nervous how this would go not having my model available for fittings along the way but it was perfect.

createnic_first_day_dressweb14

Next dress I make (because there will be more!) I will add two inches to the length which seems standard for all these leggy girls in our family!

createnic_first_day_dressweb15

The pattern comes with a variety of options, an A-line dress, a tunic top and various amounts of lining but let’s face it, the full skirt is a must.
C’mon… the twirling!

createnic_first_day_dressweb4

And the lining stiffens the skirt a little giving it a great preppy line even at rest.

createnic_first_day_dressweb13

Happy birthday sweet girl, a ray of sunshine in our lives.

createnic_first_day_dressweb16

createnic_first_day_dressweb10

