marcel_marlier_small19

The talented people at Sewpony and StraightGrain have organised a sew-along to celebrate the wonderful books written by Marcel Marlier from the ’50s onwards. I was intrigued as these books look right up Buggy’s (and my) alley. We don’t own any yet, but I have my eye on a couple of purchases for birthday number 4.

marcel-marlier-martine-chaussures

I took this opportunity to make a dress I have had my heart set on for the longest time – Compagnie M’s Lotta dress. Oh Lotta how I love thee!!!!

marcel_marlier_small1

Is this the cutest dress or what?!!

marcel_marlier_small8

One of the harder sews for me lately, but definitely my most favourite dress to sew since my Red Riding Hood ice-cream dress. Let this be a warning to you, MANY photos to come.

marcel_marlier_small9

The tricky bits of this dress are the curves of the lapels and pockets, but Marte guides you through with some great instructions.

marcel_marlier_small17

And just quietly I am happy with how they turned out. My favourite projects are definitely biased by the fabric and I just love this floral vintage cotton. The contrasting fabric is a mustard Andover chambray. I have been admiring these chambrays for a while and finally bought a stash in a few colours so they will be popping up regularly.

marcel_marlier_small11

The bodice is lined and I got into trouble one night sewing up the wrong parts! But only because I tend to rush and not read instructions properly!

marcel_marlier_small10

Marte likes to serge all her edges first but I find it puckers the fabric so prefer to do this as I go. In hindsight, I would probably also sew my buttons last as my fourth one is too close to the skirt seam for my liking. But who’s judging? 🙂 (I also was too lazy to walk up to the button shop for extra blue buttons so we’ve gone with a couple of alternating green ones with the same white pin-stripe)

marcel_marlier_small2

I made Bugs a size 5 despite the fact that she is not even 4 yet! But I am glad, as it has a bit of room for growth so we might see the summer through!

marcel_marlier_small6

Now, anyone who knows me, knows that since I had kids I seem to have a bit of nervous energy where I can’t sit and read a book anymore but need to be on the go (mostly sewing).marcel_marlier_small3

I even wrote myself a list the other night for my sewing schedule till Christmas. Self imposed deadlines. What a nutcase!

But then this happened:

marcel_marlier_small12

We went to the Playschool concert and Bugs returned home with a Jemima doll. So now I’ve got it in my head to make Jemima some matching dresses to add to the madness.

marcel_marlier_small13

You’re not going to see any of these outfits close up as they are barely a step up from the clothes I made my brother’s teddy when I was about 12. I’m just so impatient!!! Who needs a pattern! But let’s just say, Jemima is definitely the latest squeeze, so I am wondering whether her matching attire will convince Bugs to wear my creations a bit more regularly. An experiment I will keep you posted on.

marcel_marlier_small16

Look at this goof ball. Best way to take photos of her, ask her to sing Upsy Down Town! Did I mention it’s Kids Clothes Week! The theme this round is Storybook theme, so we fit right in!

marcel_marlier_small20

 

