mara_flower_11

Peekaboo! Time to show you our Mara blouse from Compagnie M!

mara_flower1

So I am a bit late finishing for the Mara sew-along and missed the chance to link up with all the other talented sewers. Darn!

mara_flower5

But let’s move on. I decided to make the long sleeve version given we are still in winter in the Southern Hemisphere and paired it with a corduroy skirt from Making Children’s Clothes, by Emma Hardy. I realise I am already on the tail-end of pattern sizes for this book (where did the time go!) and have not made the most of it, so you may see a bit more from this book over the next six months.

mara_flower2

I love the vintage look created with this outfit. It reminds me of many things I wore as a little girl!

mara_flower3

This shirt was probably one of the more fiddly things I’ve sewn lately. It took me a little bit to get the bib and buttonholes lined up and the ric-rac accurate underneath it, not to mention the shirt pleats. But after that, it was pretty smooth sailing.

mara_flower6

It’s not visible in the photos, but I decided to finish the shirt with a rolled hem with my overlocker so I didn’t lose any length for my tall girl. And in re-threading my machine, discovered all the usual settings had been played with by Hamster. No wonder my over-locking hadn’t been looking flash lately!

mara_flower9

The skirt was super easy to make – really just three blocks of fabric and a lined pocket to attach. Oh, and some red bias binding to finish the skirt (I didn’t have enough ric-rac to match the shirt).

mara_flower7

I love this floral cotton. It was a great find from Reverse Garbage and plenty more where that came from so it will pop up again! I love the finish of this shirt and can’t wait to make some summer versions and the dress version as spring rolls around.

 

