layette_web7

This has to be one of my favourite outfits I have made my little Hamster. Yep, it can be said, I’m sewing thick and fast for my little man. Unlike his big sister he has very few hand-me-downs, so suddenly I have taken it upon myself to fill his winter wardrobe rather than visit the shops!

layette_web8

The jacket is an Oliver + S Lullaby Layette jacket. The pants are my second pair of Clean Slates from Melly Sews. Let’s talk about the jacket.

layette_web12

The outer layer is a printed fleece which I diamond quilted onto (a fairly subtle result). I lined it with a grey and cream striped quilting cotton which I love. And I battled my way through with 18mm bias binding for the trim – never again! I’m really happy with this jacket but it didn’t turn out as thick as I would have liked. Luckily Nan is onto knitting vests for Hamster which is perfect for underneath.

layette_web3

I sewed up the 2T and as you can see there’s plenty of room across the back and we are currently folding up the sleeves a little which lets the cute grey stripe make an appearance.

layette_web4

My first pair of Clean Slates were so enjoyable to make I was keen to make another pair. This mustard corduroy is to die for. So soft and buttery to touch I want to buy more to make a little coat for him for next year.

layette_web6

This corduroy holds its shape better than the Porcupines so it shows off the lovely lined pockets well. For the lining I used the same grey and cream stripe as for the jacket.

layette_web1

Plenty of room and comfort for those little toddling legs who like to explore.

layette_web11

 

