bunny__web15

Happy Good Friday! Last week was KCW (Kids Clothes Week) and one of my finished pieces included an Easter top for Bugs (my daughter, not the rabbit!) I am so proud of this top as it is really the first item of clothing I have ‘drafted’ myself. And it came together as I sewed with a few developments born out of error!

bunny__web2

This season’s KCW had the theme Mini Me and I decided Buggy would model her new clothes replicating my hobbies as a mini me. So we couldn’t go the week without her role playing some sewing could we! I think she quite enjoyed it. She requested to do some pinning and really got into it! Such intense concentration for 3!

bunny__web3

But back to the top. I wanted to make a peasant top and found some good tutorials here and here, but I completely messed up my sizing as I’m prone to do without a proper pattern! Of course once the top was finished I realised I owned a perfectly good pattern in one of my sewing books! Anyway, necessity being the mother of all invention, I decided to add a feature panel to the back of the top and I think it worked out quite well!

bunny__web1

I’m kind of having a love affair with seersucker right now. I actually made a dress for myself out of this lemon version but am not happy with my photos yet to post it! The contrasting fabric is a Japanese cotton I lined a bag with last year and I was excited to use the leftover. I figured if Bugs is to wear this top it needs to feature some red in it.

bunny__web9

The neckline is basic elastic but I decided to shir the arm cuffs with my new skills learnt from her birthday dress.

bunny__web4

Happy Easter everyone. I can’t wait to show you my Bunny Bento bags which are on the sewing table right now!

 

