hopscotch_web3

It’s Kids Clothes Week! My first involvement and I am very excited to be a part of things. (For those in the un-know, it’s a sew-along of sorts where participants commit to 1 hour sewing a day). I’m aiming to really get involved and get a few projects finished this week that I’ve had on the boil for a little while, so for sneak previews head over to my profile on the Kids Clothes Week blog and I will report back with more details here over the coming weeks.

hopscotch_web4

The first piece that I have made for Buggy this week is an Oliver + S hopscotch skirt. A familiar pattern to those in the sewing world. After my first success of the Ice-cream dress I was excited to make another Oliver + S. Ok, so I have arrived a bit late to the love affair with Liesl’s patterns but I intend to catch up!
A little hopscotch anybody?

My fabric is Little Menagerie by Melanie Hurlston and was intended for shorts but anyone who knows Buggy well knows she is not a shorts girl at this time in her life. Anyway, I think it works perfectly for a skirt and the little crosses remind me of jacks I played with as a child. Do they still exist?? I love these buttons too. I think they look like juicy raspberry lollies. So does Buggy.

hopscotch_web18

Don’t you just love those Chinese takeaway container inspired pockets? Beautiful pattern details as well as other Oliver + S techniques that make the inside of this skirt look professionally put together. But it was just me! I decided to go for a size 4T even though Bugs is only 3, but she is such a giant I want this skirt to last!

hopscotch_web12

This season’s Kids Clothes Week has a theme: Mini Me. While I don’t have time to make duplicate clothes for Buggy and I, my take on the theme is getting her (and hopefully Hamster) to explore my hobbies in our photo shoots.
Life-pre-kids, I was known for my hiking adventures. I think this skirt lends itself well to a little exploring in the backyard.

Thanks for stopping by. I am looking forward to disclosing Mini Me number 2 outfit soon!

hopscotch_web10

 

