train_pants_web17

For Valentine’s Day I had the idea to make some matching PJ pants for the two men in my life, but also, to follow the traditional anniversary gift giving ideas by making my man something in cotton for our most recent anniversary (albeit a little belated!).

train_pants_web12

I love, love this fabric I found at Christmas time of Miniatures Poplin, with contrasting burnt orange cotton for the cuffs and waistband/butt.

train_pants_web1

For hubby’s pants I followed the PJ pant idea from Sew 4 Home. I used his favourite PJ pants as a template and the project was fairly straightforward, whilst I also decided to add a contrasting band and elastic as well as a drawstring.

train_pants_web13

I thought I had paid close attention to the sizing but in the end the pants are a little narrow on hubby’s hips which means he probably won’t wear them if he is not ultra comfortable. 😦 I think the problem is tracing around pants with elastic (perhaps the writers of Sew 4 Home had a simple drawstring pair they traced around, which in hindsight would make sense). So next time, I will need to stretch the elastic to get a more honest idea of the material required around the bottom/hip area.

train_pants_web20

For the Hamster’s pants, I used Made by Rae’s baby butt pattern which I love and look forward to making more of! They are still a little long and loose at the waist but this way he has room to grow into them.

train_pants_web10

I’d like to say this photo shoot was a representation of our nice relaxed Sunday mornings…

train_pants_web14

Full of smiles and cuddles…

train_pants_web15

But let’s face it. We all had cabin fever after a lot of rainy weather and this next expression on the Hamster’s face really sums up everyone’s mood during shooting!

train_pants_web19b

Boys!!

train_pants_web21

Meanwhile Bugs (always the actress) was gagging to be photographed, so here she is equipped with black umbrella!

Ava

