african_whimsy1

I had every intention of participating in my first Kid’s Clothes Week but unfortunately normal life, namely looking for a day job, got in the way. When is someone going to pay me to sew?!

Anyways, one of my projects was to make Buggy a lace-trimmed blouse out of some leftover floral animal fabric from my stash that I absolutely love love. I decided to pair the top with some of Dana’s awesome shorts. This time with bias binding pockets.

african_whimsy10

For the blouse I used this lovely tutorial by ‘it’s always autumn’. I used the calculations recommended but ended up with a ginormous top in width! So I had to do some quick alterations to make it look like a size 3 rather than size 14! All the while ensuring that hopefully it fits for next summer as we draw near to the end of this season.

african_whimsy7

I have a new infatuation with bias binding and how neatly it completes all edges! Used in the blouse as well as the shorts.

african_whimsy5

Dana’s shorts pattern continues to be so easy and effective, with the addition of bias binding pockets making them slightly retro. I tried a lemon trim to contrast with the navy and although they look a bit boyish they will be great for messy play at preschool and will work for the Hamster one day.

african_whimsy6

This was the perfect outfit to practice cycling daddy’s huge old tricycle that grandpa found in the shed when they moved house recently.

african_whimsy4

I have a skerrick more of this beautiful material, I wonder what else I can squeeze out of it!

african_whimsy8

