SONY DSC

When I was young I had a topsy turvy doll. She had faded from my thoughts until I found this pattern in The Big Book of Softies and it sparked some fond memories! So I thought this would be the perfect first project from this inspirational book. If you are unfamiliar with a topsy-turvy doll, one side is the awake doll and when you flip her upside down and pull down her skirt you find your sleeping doll!

SONY DSC

What a lot of firsts this project involved! I have never embroidered anything so the faces were a challenge! I have Mary Corbet’s YouTube tutorials to thank for embroidery techniques and my good friends Karen and Amy!

DSC01275

The pattern was really well explained except for a few items here and there like – “sew on the hair”. HOW???!!!! So I visited google and found this very useful tutorial from Clothespindolls.

SONY DSC

There was one very excited Buggy to receive her doll for completing her good behaviour star chart.

DSC08102

topsy_turvy1

We just love Topsy and I am so proud of how my first doll creation turned out, here are a few extra photos of her in action!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Time for bed x

DSC08092

